Return to Website

Wizard Outboard Motor Forum

Welcome to the new Wizard Outboard Forum.

Wizard Outboard Motor Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
wd3 Lower Unit seal placement

OK Guys,
I'm replacing the seals in my 1946 WD3 lower unit. I'm trying to figure which direction the upper seal should go in. The lower seal on the prop shaft was easy as the old one was still intact. For reference purposes, I'd say the lip of the prop shaft seal is facing towards the propeller. Which way should the lip of the upper seal face? Up or down? Seems like it would face down to allow the drive shaft to be inserted easily, but I'm a novice at this.

Also, I have two lower units for this motor. The original lower unit has a slotted aluminum sleeve that is driven in the drive shaft hole to hold the upper seal down. The second lower unit uses a coiled spring to do the same. Which is the better keeper for the upper seal? seems the lower unit with the spring had lots more wear on the drive shaft, but this could be due to lack of lubrication.
-Thanks

Re: wd3 Lower Unit seal placement

If seal surfaces on drive and prop shafts are rusted
or grooved new seals will not seal any better than
the old seals. Sometimes it is possible to offset
seal so lip will ride on a different part of shaft...not always.
That said the seal lips on prop shaft face the
water pump chamber to keep water from passing
into gear case. By same logic seal on drive shaft
should face up to seal water and exhaust out from
coming in that way. I believe the original drive
shaft seal was a piece of formed raw hide held
in place by a spring and the coupling between
lower unit assembly and leg...NLA
Louis

Rawhide would make sense. when removing the original seal,it just crumbled into unrecognizable pieces.
On mine, the original was held in by an aluminum tube with a slit up the side.
What is NLA ?

Bryan - Those dreaded three letters stand for No Longer Available.

JP