Return to Website

Wizard Outboard Motor Forum

Welcome to the new Wizard Outboard Forum.

Wizard Outboard Motor Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
MY old wd4s

I just took out my Grandpa's old wizzard wd4s,(from what I have read it is a merc kd4s also ?), I cleaned the mud dopper nests out of it, cleaned the coils and the thing fires up. Now I need to see where to go from here. I need to tear it apart some more to fully clean it up,(now that I know it starts).Are there any books that are good to find info on this motor i.e. How to assemble, dissamble, specs, fuel mixture etc....Are parts hard to find? is it worth to go farther?

I am very new to out board motors, but I am tired of paddeling this old elgin around and wanted to try and get the old pair back together again.Thanks in advance,Jay

Re: MY old wd4s

Jay,

Pick up a copy of "Cheap Outboards." I got mine off of ebay. Although not a specific manual, it gives good guidance on bringing an old outboard back to life. Now, it is primarily focused on OMCs, but lots of it applies to Mercs or any brand. You can also get an old Mercury service manual covering the KD4, but they tend to be pricey...again, watch ebay.

Parts are fairly abundant (look at the KD-4 parts on www.oldmercs.com), and so getting what you need shouldn't be too hard. But, it can get pricey, so figure what you want to spend. If it runs well now, I would just replace the water impeller, clean the carburetor and have fun. If you want to do a full restoration, get some books on the topic or check out some of the outboard resources on the web. Be aware that Mercs can be a bit trickier to work on if you are a newbie...but they are good motors.

JP

Thank you for the input,and any other input would be greatly appecerated.
does any one know the correct mix ratio for this motor,From what I have seen it can range 20:1-16:1