​​​​​​​

MESSAGE BOARD

THE CHALLENGE COMMUNITY, ON-LINE!

FRIENDLY ASSISTANCE AND ENCOURAGEMENT AVAILABLE FOR CHALLENGERS OLD AND NEW,

FROM FRIENDLY AND ENCOURAGING CHALLENGERS, NEW AND OLD

PLEASE USE YOUR OWN NAME WHEN POSTING. THANK YOU!

Download route sheets, admin forms, event documents here

Any queries? Email the coordinators  Sue, Ali & Mick at tgochallenge@gmail.com 

The TGO Challenge Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Any love for the Durston x-mid on here?

(Grats to all tgoc2023 starters and finishers.)
I have (and love) my enan but pondering an x-mid 1 solid, or notch li to ditch some weight for (hopefully) a tgoc attempt next year.
I hear the notch was popular this year, has anyone got any critical feedback on either the durston or tarptent?
Thanks
—R

Re: Any love for the Durston x-mid on here?

You may find more discussion on the FB page, if you are interested.
I have no experience of the X-mid, but I love my Notch Sil. Mine has velcro on the doors, I expect the zippered one is better but I'm okay with that. Having two vestibule is really handy. If you are organised and not too tall (6'+ might be an issue) the Notch is a great tent. Obviously, the Li version is lighter and doesn't hold water.

I had the first mesh version and sold it on to get an X-Mid 1P Solid. The full range is on the Durston Gear website.

Very simply, the Solid version is the best tent I've ever owned - taking into account that all tents have good and not so good features.

Rather than just me saying it - go to backpackinglight or trek-lite and pick up one of the threads. Reddit is another source.

Dan Durston is the only tent designer,I know, who actively engages with people in discussing just about any issue around the various versions of the X-Mid.

They used to sell out in minutes! Now the supply is more readily available.

The shipping cost to the UK does add considerably to the costs. Even so, the X-Mids are a great value range of tents