​​​​​​​

MESSAGE BOARD

THE CHALLENGE COMMUNITY, ON-LINE!

FRIENDLY ASSISTANCE AND ENCOURAGEMENT AVAILABLE FOR CHALLENGERS OLD AND NEW,

FROM FRIENDLY AND ENCOURAGING CHALLENGERS, NEW AND OLD

PLEASE USE YOUR OWN NAME WHEN POSTING. THANK YOU!

Download route sheets, admin forms, event documents here

Any queries? Email the coordinators  Sue, Ali & Mick at tgochallenge@gmail.com 

The TGO Challenge Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Oban bothy to Glen Pean

I've no experience of it myself (no surprise really, tad adventurous for me 🤣) but following the rough route on geograph looks quite interesting in places, some more than others...
https://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/401005
That said, if people have been there and published photographs, they've survived :sunglasses:

Afternoon Paul,

I've been that way a few times and it's a wonderful route, though with a few obstacles on the way. When you leave the path as it turns south, you ascend to a boulder choke before Lochan Dubh, quite an impressive place, though not hard to negotiate. Pass the tiny teardrop lochan on its south side; it's a stunning setting, surrounded by birch trees, very atmospheric in gloomy conditions. There's another series of boulders to scramble down to reach the top of Glen Pean. I recall going up these once when a low flying jet roared overhead, nearly toppling me off.

It's easier after that, as long as you follow the south side of Lochan Leum an t-Sagairt. The Explorer map shows a path to the north, which is quite mistaken and this is much rougher going. There is in fact a path which rises above the lochan to the south.

The last hiccup is where the river almost meets a small crag, just before the bothy. There are stepping stones here but in times of high water they're likely to flood.

Enjoy this outing, a classic of its kind.

Colin

Colin Crawford

It's easier after that, as long as you follow the south side of Lochan Leum an t-Sagairt.