​​​​​​​

MESSAGE BOARD

THE CHALLENGE COMMUNITY, ON-LINE!

FRIENDLY ASSISTANCE AND ENCOURAGEMENT AVAILABLE FOR CHALLENGERS OLD AND NEW,

FROM FRIENDLY AND ENCOURAGING CHALLENGERS, NEW AND OLD

PLEASE USE YOUR OWN NAME WHEN POSTING. THANK YOU!

Download route sheets, admin forms, event documents here

Any queries? Email the coordinators  Sue, Ali & Mick at tgochallenge@gmail.com 

The TGO Challenge Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Tracking devices

Hi all

Does anyone on here use a tracking device? I've been looking into buying one as it would be a good way of keeping in touch with people at home but also it gets them involved with my route and where I am and where I'm going. Looking at what you can buy, I notice you can also hire them as well and I was wondering if anyone had had an experience with those.

Any advice gratefully appreciated!

Re: Tracking devices

Hi Paul

I’m a first timer in The Challenge this year, so I’m no expert in this matter.

I think the main trackers that people use on the event are either Garmin (previously DeLorme) InReach or SPOT trackers (mainly the SPOT 3)
Both of these devices enable friends/relatives to be able to track your progress. With the SPOT you are able to send an emergency beacon and send messages to nominated people but you can’t receive messages. The Garmin (or DeLorme) InReach enables you to send AND receive messages and that is the main difference. Both devices, in addition to their purchase price, require an active subscription. The Garmin is more expensive than the SPOT devices both in terms of purchase price and subscription. During the Challenge you are able to link your device to Social Hiking (unfortunately this site will close down after this year’s event) If you look at Social Hiking’s website you will see TGOC 2017 in the ‘Featured Maps’ column.