​​​​​​​

MESSAGE BOARD

THE CHALLENGE COMMUNITY, ON-LINE!

FRIENDLY ASSISTANCE AND ENCOURAGEMENT AVAILABLE FOR CHALLENGERS OLD AND NEW,

FROM FRIENDLY AND ENCOURAGING CHALLENGERS, NEW AND OLD

PLEASE USE YOUR OWN NAME WHEN POSTING. THANK YOU!

Download route sheets, admin forms, event documents here

Any queries? Email the coordinators  Sue, Ali & Mick at tgochallenge@gmail.com 

The TGO Challenge Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Drishell

Looking for some thoughts and advice from more learned folks such as yourselves...

I'm planning using an MLD Duomid with Polycro ground sheet for my first crossing in May (I have a mesh inner with bathtub floor but is a two person and weighs 450.)

Now, I have a custom PHD bag with a Drishell outer, which is supposed to be fairly damp proof (I know the seams aren't sealed etc).

I had not planned on taking a bivi bag (spent enough already although I have an alpkit Hunka if needed) but wondering if anyone has actual experience of Drishell and whether the non-bivi option is sensible?

Many thanks in advance for your wisdom and wisecracks!

Stuart

Re: Drishell

Hi Stuart

As I understand you, you'll be using your Duomid, and your Plycro ground sheet but with no inner.

I have a PHD drishell sleeping bag and my shelter is a Warmlite 2C, whose end cones are made from single skin silnylon (the main centre section is a sealed double skin.)

As you know, you will get condensation on the underside of your Duomid and with a fierce battering rain storm this will create a 'mist' inside your shelter. This is okay for one night, as your drishell sleeping bag should cope with that. However for a few nights of this and packing away a slightly damp bag you will begin to lose quite a bit of loft.