Return to Website

Ashton-in-Makerfield Community Forum

This message board welcomes open and friendly debate on matters relevant to Ashton and its history, and the publicising of local events, activities and facilities. Please read the board rules before posting.

Extracts from this forum and other material have been brought together to provide a local history from the contributions of members.

Ashton-in-Makerfield Community Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
IP addresses 195.188.243.2 and 195.188.243.25

Because of spoof and party political content being posted from two IP addresses allocated to Wigan Council (and used by Councillors Tushingham and Daington), both these IP addresses have been barred.

Town: dm@aimi.org.uk

Re: IP addresses 195.188.243.2 and 195.188.243.25

Bravo mr moderator

Town: moshman01@hotmail.com

Re: Re: IP addresses 195.188.243.2 and 195.188.243.25

I have never used this website before because I am disgusted by its misrepresentation. However, I am making an exception in this case, to put a few facts before the public in the brief time before they are censored by McKendick, who wants above all to keep the public in ignorance of the true facts.

"ALL computers accessing the Internet through the council network, whether councillors, council officers, or members of the public using computers in public libraries, share 4 Internet addresses and normally the address used is 195.188.243.25."

"The main address used before a network upgrade in early summer was 195.188.243.2"

I wonder if McKenrick has ever heard of libel law?

"Pop" goes the Weasel!

Re: Council IP addresses

Thank you for your clarification, Councillor. Regrettably I have had to block these addresses because of spoof posts originating via them. I am sure you would agree that it is not in the interests of genuine contributors who post under their own name to have their views misrepresented.

- David McKendrick -

Re: Re: Council IP addresses