Return to Website

Wizard Outboard Motor Forum

Welcome to the new Wizard Outboard Forum.

Wizard Outboard Motor Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Wizard Wg4

Hello
This is my first time to this site, I have been picking up small displacement motors of all types as I hate to see them go to waste. Today I picked up a Wizard model WG4 serial # 728312. My questions are 1 Is it better to clean them up or leave them as found? 2 The motor I got today is complete but has a broken tiller handle and one leg of the motor mount is broken. Other than that It doesn't appear too bad. It pulls over with the roap starter but I haven't actually tried to start it. the cover has been painted with what looks like latex paint but physically It looks fairly good. Oh the prop is a little chewed up. 3 Is it worth saving?
Bob

Re: Wizard Wg4

Welcome to the sickness of Wizard outboard ownership.
I have about 4 Wizard outboards myself and I like the attention they draw at the boat landing.

It's a matter of personal choice to clean up or leave as found. I like the cleaned up "old" look myself, and usually clean mine up with a degreaser and leave the original patina. It's real hard to match the wizard green out of a paint can off the shelf. I hear there's a guy in Canada who is selling green paint that is supposed to be a match to the Wizard green. Wizards aren't worth a lot , but they are sure fun to play with. Yours was made by Mercury around 1951 to 53 and is 6 hp. Don't try to get parts from the local mercury dealer...He'll just make you angry and send you packing as their catalogs don't go back past 1969??? I think.

here is a link to the thread of the parts breakdown about half way down the thread in the (Manual 80-06) :
http://pub9.bravenet.com/forum/static/show.php?usernum=737212788&frmid=52&msgid=715480&cmd=show
Click on the url below the pictures for a clearer image of each page.